The curriculum at Staniland Academy is appropriate to all pupils and meets the national requirements of the Foundation Stage Curriculum and National Curriculum.

In the Foundation years the Curriculum is divided into seven areas of learning and development:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

In Key Stages One and Two we offer a broad, balanced and enriched Curriculum which provides the pupils with the skills to equip them for life, work and social responsibility as future adults.

A thematic approach is used, where links between subject areas are exploited to promote the Curriculum in stimulating and exciting ways. Staff work tirelessly to provide work that is suitably differentiated to meet the needs of each and every child.

The pupil’s learning experiences extend beyond the school day with extensive enrichment opportunities such as after-school clubs, theatre trips and residential visits.

At Staniland Academy we are privileged to serve a diverse community which celebrates differences. Through our teaching, the pupils gain a deeper knowledge and understanding of a wide range of cultures and religions.


Phonics and Reading

Writing, Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar



Religious Education

Personal Social Health Education (PSHE)

Physical Education (PE)

Knowledge Organisers